Yeah, breastfeeding is great.  Uh huh.  Easy (once you cut through all of the initial pain and suffering), no screwing around with cleaning and sterilizing bottles yada yada yada.  Well, my daughter had a good run and I had a few more months in me, that was until she turned my nipples into her personal chew toys!

I’m not kidding.  And no, I’m not talking once.  Or twice.  I’m talking about at least once at every feed for about a week.  Then she took a break for a week, lulling me into a false sense of security, thinking that she finally understood how to appropriately handle the responsibilities that come with being breastfed.  Yes, there really are unwritten rules about this, first being, DO NOT BITE OR CHEW THE FOOD SOURCE!

But then she started again.  Thoughtfully, she’d look up at me with this big adoring smile and maybe even a cute little giggle if you were lucky.  All while holding my nipple clenched in her teeth.  I finally hit my wall.  I was done.  I was taking my boobs and going home … so to speak.  But that is such a waste.  So in a weak moment the next morning (some might say lazy, I choose to say weak) I broke down and offered it up.  It took about 5 minutes, lulled into a false sense of security, like this might be ok this time, before the vice came down.  And I was done.  For real this time.

It’s such a bitter sweet time isn’t it?  No more breastfeeding.  You might lose some of that ‘quiet’ cuddle time, the sweetness, that special connection, you have to fiddle with bottles and formula now.  Oh, and you’re period is likely about to return.  Good times, good times.  On the other hand, you gain FREEDOM!  Freedom to roam, your husband no longer has an excuse as to why he can’t watch the kids,  your boobs, your body, becomes your own again.  Whoo hoo!  I’ll take it – even if it comes with a period.

