Here it is.  The ‘big ass’ cake I referred to in a previous post – the cake I was working on last week.  It turned out pretty well, I thought.  I definitely learned a lot making this one and it was very well received which is always nice.  It even tasted yummy too.  Sadly, I think it did nothing to help with my healthier eating goals.  I can admit it, I am a ‘spoon-licker’.  Do you know that they estimate the number of calories you can consume just licking the spoon each week to be up to 150cal.  And that’s if you are an average cook, cooking your average meal.  I couldn’t find the estimate for spoon-licking bakers but I’m guessing that putting tongue to the beaters that whipped the vanilla buttercream icing (made with real butter too, none of this shortening stuff) before tossing them in the sink can’t be good.  I imagine, also, that snacking on the cake ‘trimmings’ that you’ve shaved off the cake isn’t a 5-star snack.  Yup, no closer to my goal today.

On the plus side, I had a fantastic time at the party and even got to dance a little.  We had forgotten how awesome it is to be able to get out for a few hours and not have to worry about the kids.  They were in capable hands and didn’t miss us a bit!  As we sat on the veranada waiting for the guest of honour to arrive it occurred to us that it has been almost 11 months since we both got out of the house together without the kids.  The minute we got home we booked our next ‘date’ with the sitter!  Just a little excited.

This week, I need to push myself.  I am no where near meeting my own goals of eating healthier or exercising more.  I have to admit, baking cakes is a lot of fun, but not incredibly helpful!  I have friends who have expressed an interest in setting up an evening to get together for a walk/run or something good for you like that but that has yet to happen – wink, wink, nudge, nudge people!  In the meantime, while I wait for them, I will enjoy my Monday morning skate and with or without friends, I am determined to get out for a walk/run or skate 3 times this week at a minimum.  Let’s see if I can make this happen.  I mean, why not, right?

