We had this meal for supper tonight and today was a very long day.  I suspect that I’ll be much faster at making it next time but it was relatively easy to prepare and most of the items I have on hand on your average day so it works out well.  I did catch myself short though – I forgot to buy kale at the grocery store yesterday so I used spinach instead (the chopped frozen kind) and it turned out just fine.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 C brown rice
  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 1/4 C white onion, diced
  • 1 large bunch kale (about 8oz), stems removed and finely minced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced (I would recommend using a whole pepper)
  • 2 tbsp raw organic honey (I used agave syrup)
  • 1/4 C dijon mustard (I used seeded)
  • 1/8 C apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • sea salt and fresh ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1 tbsp fresh flat leaf parsley, finely minced

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cook rice according to package directions.
  2. Heat a large non-stick skillet or cast iron skillet over high heat for one minute.  Reduce heat to medium-high, mist pan with cooking spray and saute chicken for about 5 minutes or until cooked through.  Remove from heat and set aside.
  3. Mist same pan again with cooking spray. Add onion, kale and red pepper and saute over medium high heat until just cooked through, about 3 minutes.  Add rice to vegetables and saute until warmed, about 2 more minutes.  Remove from pan and keep warm.
  4. In a medium bowl whisk together honey, mustard, vinegar, oil, garlic and 2 tbsp water.  Season with salt and pepper.  Reheat pan over medium high heat, add chicken and honey-mustard mixture to pan and saute for about 3 minutes.
  5. To serve, divide rice pilaf among 4 plates, then top with honey-mustard chicken.  Sprinkle with parsley before serving. (oops!  I knew I forgot to do something!)

COOKS NOTES:

Ummm … I’ve got nothing.

THE VERDICT?

It was just another average night in our house tonight and my husband was a little late getting home, so the rice was a bit on the dry side.  As I was keeping the chicken warm, on low, in the pan with the honey mustard sauce, the chicken was nice and tasty but there was very little ‘sauce’ left to drizzle on the rice.

The Cook: I liked it.  I’d happily make it again – though not so far in advance as it turned out to be tonight.

The Husband: “This is good.  We could have this once a month or so.  Would you be offended if I put Italian dressing on the rice?  It’s a bit bland and dry.”

The Son: He managed to eat it right up (minus the “green leaf stuff and the peppers”) without any problems.

Here are some others who tried the recipe: Pink ParsleyThe Mess PotProceed With Caution and had some good feedback about it.

WHAT’S COOKING NEXT WEEK?

Pasta Roll Ups – my husband should LOVE these.  I got it off the Clean Eating Magazine website.

