Clean Eating 1Sorry – no picture of my own finished product this time.  But check out the cover of the March/April 2010 issue of Clean Eating and it looked just like that!

It was all rush rush rush tonight and we ate dinner in shifts.  It didn’t take too long to throw together at all – which is great!  Even better, my son enjoyed washing the veggies for med – which is ok by me since it tends to be ‘two for the pot, one for him’.  It’s a win win situation.  For the second week in a row, I had all of the ingredients on hand AND this time I don’t even have any substitutions to list either!  Look at me go!

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz soba noodles
  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 1 lb lean round steak, pounded to 1/4 inch thick and sliced thin in strips
  • 1/2 cup white onion diced
  • 2 cups fresh broccoli florets, separated into bite size pieces
  • 1/2 1 red bell pepper, julienne cut (trust me, you want a whole pepper)
  • 3 tablespoon  low sodium tamari soy sauce
  • juice 1 medium orange
  • 1 tablespoon orange zest
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons raw organic honey
  • 2 teaspoons whole wheat flour

Instructions:

  1. Cook noodles according to package directions. Drain and set aside.
  2. Heat large nonstick or cast-iron skillet over high heat for 1 min. Reduce heat to medium-high, mist pan with cooking spray and saute steak for about 5 minutes or until cooked through. (For medium doneness, the steak will still be slightly pink in the middle.) Remove steak, leaving juices in the pan.
  3. Mist same pan again with cooking spray. Add onion, broccoli and pepper and sauteover medium-high heat for about 5 minutes until cooked through.
  4. In a medium bowl whisk together soy sauce, orange juice, zest, garlic and honey.
  5. Add steak back in to vegetables and pour in soy sauce mixture. Saute steak and vegetables over medium-high heat for about 2 minutes, then whisk in flour to thicken, about 2-3 minutes. Add noodles to pan and cooked until warmed about 3 more min. Remove from heat and serve.

Cooks Notes:

Next time (if) I make this one, I’ll add more veggies and cook a little less pasta – and I had already cut the amount down to about 8oz!  I’d even add some extra vegetables like julienned carrot and/or mushrooms – whatever colours you need to complete your Rainbow for the day!  Also, do item #1 after item #4 so the noodles are sitting and getting cold or soggy to begin with.

The Verdict?

Over all, this was a good meal for the whole family.

The Cook: It was tasty and easy to make.  I even have a good feeling that it will still taste good when my husband has the leftovers for lunch tomorrow – even if it is mostly pasta that’s left.  I may make this again but I have other recipes on my list first.

The Husband: [with mouth full] “It’s good, gotta go!”

The Son: “I like this.  Mommy, can I have lots more broccoli, please?”  No, I’m not joking!

Here are some others who tried the recipe: My Next Life, Culinary Covers and had some good feedback about it.

What’s cooking next week?

Honey Mustard Chicken & Rice Pilaf – also from the recent Clean Eating Magazine.

