I am trying to get myself into the habit of eating healthier.  Apparently I am not trying hard enough since I have been losing and gaining the same 3 lbs for weeks!!  Now, eating healthier, for me, means, being aware of the amount of food ‘crap’ I consume in a day ‘when no one is looking’.  It means no more mindless munching in front of the TV after the kids go to bed at night.  It means no more snack sneaking during their naps.

To be clear, and this is a little embarrassing to admit but, I’m not talking about ‘a’ snack.  I don’t usually eat ‘just one’.  I’m one of those people, if I open a bag of chips, I’m in trouble because the Lays’ tag line is true, even if it isn’t Lays inside that bag/box/container.  And, sometimes, I do follow the insane philosophy of an old friend of mine that says, well, if I’m going to eat some crap, I might as well eat it all, otherwise it’ll just tempt me later.

I am beginning to discover that it is less about what I’m eating then it is about the fact that I am bored, or that this is my definition of ‘me’ time and I deserve it because my son cried or because I didn’t get much sleep last night.  And it certainly has nothing to do with whether or not I am hungry.

So, now that I have admitted all of this embarrassing stuff, WHAT DO I DO ABOUT IT?  How do I re-define my ‘me’ time?  How do I re-program my definition of a treat ‘because I deserve it’ for whatever horrible, stressful thing happened that day?  Buy myself a mani & pedi?  HA HA!  When?  So, what will my carrot be?  Currently I can take my pick: because I want to be in better health for me, because I want more energy to play with my kids, because I want a breast reduction, because I feel like crap, because I want to look decent in a bathing suit this summer, because I need to be a better example for my kids.  Take your pick!  I’ve got ’em.  But why aren’t any of them keeping me motivated?!!?!?

I’m also curious, how much truth do you think there is to this: CBC NEWS: Junk-food addiction may change brain?

Here is an article from another blogger: Hungry or Hooked?

