I got this recipe from the March/April issue of Clean Eating.  It is so easy to prepare!  Since I decided to prepare them at the last minute, there was no time for me to go to the grocery store so as per my usual lately, I had to make some substitutions, which I’ve noted below, and I did let my husband check to see if they were done while I was feeding my daughter.  The problem with this is that his version of done is quite different from mine – so they were a little over cooked.

I served it with simple roasted potatoes, green beans, broccoli and grilled red pepper.

The picture below is what it was supposed to look like – the picture from the magazine.

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 1/4 cups whole-wheat panko
  • 1 tbsp pine nuts, toasted
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/4 tsp fine sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp dried red pepper flakes
  • 1 flank steak about a pound, trimmed of visible fat
  • 3 oz spinach leaves
  • kitchen string

Directions:

ONE: Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Arrange a rack in a baking dish and coat with cooking spray

TWO: In a small bowl, combine panko, nuts, vinegar, garlic, salt, and pepper flakes.  Set aside.

THREE: Place steak on a work surface. Holding a sharp knife, parallel to the work surface and positioned along 1 of the longer sides, cut the steak almost in half horizontally so it opens like a book. Spread steak open with “spine of book” parallel to you.

FOUR: Sprinkle panko mixture over steak leaving a one inch border along the farthest edge.  Arrange spinach on top.  Beginning with the closest edge roll steak up, gently pressing down on the spinach.  Tie up with kitchen string at 1-inch intervals.  Place steak in prepared pan and bake unto the meat thermometer reads 150 for medium and 130 for rare. Remove from oven, transfer to a cutting board and cover loosely with foil to rest 10 mins.

FIVE: Remove foil and string and carefully cut steak crosswise into 1/2 inch slices. Serve drizzled with any juices that accumulated on the cutting board.

Cooks Notes:

As always, I needed to make a few adjustments.  Substitutions: I didn’t have pine nuts so I used mixed nuts and I didn’t have panko on hand so I just threw a few pieces of whole wheat bread (the diet kind that never gets eaten any other way!) in the food processor.  It worked ok, but I’m going to try this again soon with panko since I think that will keep the texture a bit better than the breadcrumbs did.  Also, I cooked this on the bbq to save on dishes and heating up the kitchen.

The Verdict:

The Cook: Yummy.  Lots of good flavour.  A titch over cooked and I’d like to try the panko for better texture.
The Husband:  This is great.  Maybe we [the ‘royal’ we] can make this next weekend for friends!
The Son:  I like it.  I like it.  Can I have more please?

Nutrition:

Per 4 oz of meat:

Cals:230, Fat: 11 g (Sat Fat, 3.5g), Carbs: 8 g, Fiber: 2 g, Sugars: 0 g, Protein: 26 g, Sodium: 220mg, Cholesterol: 40mg

I found a couple other bloggers who have given this main a try: Loves To Eat, A Fit And Spicy Life.  If you decide to give it a go, let me know what you think!

