This weeks recipe was pretty basic.  And totally went against everything my body was craving due to the weather.  Cold and rainy usually requires warm comfort food so it felt a little wrong to be making, basically, a tossed salad with chicken.  Sadly, it was ‘one of those’ days today and I totally forgot to take any pictures so you’ll just have to trust me when I say, it looked good.

Again I caught myself a little short.  The recipe called for fresh ginger and, again, my nemisis, coconut butter.  I had neither but it still turned out well.  Also, I swapped out the cilantro for plain old parsley (next time I would use cilantro) and zucchini for cucumber (I ran out of zucchini the day before – besides, my son likes cucumber more) and I used leftover chicken breasts that I had made the day before so for the dressing I just used plain old homemade chicken stock.  Everyone thought it was tasty – if a bit out of place on a cold and rainy day – though I think I’ll add a titch (yes, that’s a technical measurement) of lime to the dressing.

So, did anyone else out there try it?  How did it work for you?

I’m really looking forward to the Paradise Island Bean burgers – more out of shear curiosity to be honest.  This will be a new experience for me, I’m interested to see how it goes over with my husband who LOVES his beef burgers.  Luckily, the weather is supposed to be much nicer next week – better BBQ weather!

