That tonight’s gonna be a good night!  I LOVE that song right now.

I hope everyone enjoyed the weekend.  The Easter Bunny made a visit to our house and was very generous, then, it was like Christmas in April when we went to visit Grandma & Grandpa today.  The in-laws are rather generous with the kids at Easter.  So much candy and treats to pick from – I wish I had the willpower to stay away from it but it’s just so yummy!  Therefore, we got home, and I went running.  Sort of.  Again.  This time, was not near the fiasco that it was last time.  This time, my pants even stayed up!

As soon as I got home, I proceeded to dump the bucket (yes, seriously, a bucket!) of candy that the kids came home with into a large baggie and told my husband to put it in his computer bag to take to work.  I just had to get it out of the house!  At least I know my own limits.  I am keeping, however, the Lindt dark chocolate bunny that I got and I’m letting my husband keep his Reese Peanut Butter bunny and I kept just a couple of small treats for my son.

When I got home, I was kind of peckish so I made myself a smoothie.  Now I must admit,  I’ve never really liked the idea of peanut butter in my smoothies but, tonight, I did it.  I made myself a Banana Nut Butter Smoothie.  I only recently tried Nut Butter, I’m not sure what took me so long but this stuff is seriously good!  It can be tricky though – I had to buy it in the organic ‘special’ food section at my grocery store so doesn’t that just automatically make it healthy?

So, the recipe for the smoothie went something like this – and I do mean ‘something like’ – in case you haven’t read my other posts about food, I’m not an exact recipe kind of girl so all of the measurements below are guidelines:

Banana Nut Butter Smoothie

(serves 2)

  • 1 medium banana
  • 2 tbsp nut butter of choice (I used Almond Cashew Butter)
  • 1C  of vanilla yogurt
  • 1C milk, 1%
  • large handful of ice

APPROX. Nutritional Info

The good: low in cholesterol & sodium, a good source of protein, riboflavin, clacium and phosphorus.

The bad: a large portion of the calories come from sugars.

ESTIMATED GI rating: 18

Caloric Ration: Carbs 50%, Fats 32%, Protein 18%

305 cal, 12g fat (3g saturated), 12mg cholesterol, 137mg sodium, 41g carbohydrate, 2g dietary fiber, 30g sugars, 13g protein.

