Tonight was the night to make this weeks’ recipe.  I have to admit that I was pretty upset with myself for not having read the recipe thoroughly before picking it however it all worked out in the end.

My husband, on the other hand, is not fond of tomatoes (go figure – he likes tomato sauce, chili and even salsa) and there is what he would call a whole pile of tomatoes in these recipes.  It wasn’t hard for me to make sure that they would be easily pick-out-able.  Yes, that is a technical term.

Planning for this meal was somewhat lacking.  Ha … ‘somewhat’ might be an understatement.  I think my head was focused elsewhere and I ended up having to read the recipe like 7 times to get it straight – and even then, well read on.

Here is my list of what I was missing and how I substituted:

  • Lentils (it’s even in the title!) – no substitution, it became a Brown Rice Salad
  • Dijon Mustard – dry mustard powder
  • Fresh Ginger – powdered ginger
  • Coconut Butter – olive oil.  WholeFoods, I bet I can find coconut butter at WholeFoods!

If you are just a tiny bit more prepared than I apparently was, both dishes were fairly simple to throw together with the only advance work (aside from shopping better than I did) was to marinate the chicken for a minimum of one hour – the longer the stronger the flavours.  I only let it marinate for about 40 minutes since today was the day my son decided he wanted to hang out on the potty and it got a bit distracting.

The only thing I wasn’t fond of, and I am positive that this had more to do with my lack of proper ingredients than the recipe, was the dressing for the rice salad.  So much so that I didn’t put it on the salad.  That being said, my husband added some to his and didn’t mind it so much.

The Verdict:

Me – not over the top but fairly tastey, would love to try it with the proper ingredients and a bit more zip.  I did have to tone the spice down a bit for our son.

Husband – kind of bland, he commented that he probably would have liked it better if he had NOT (gasp! no, it’s not a typo!) picked off all of the tomatoes from the sauce the chicken cooked in and he would like to taste the dressing made properly.

Son – “Hey, I like this rice and chicken!”

NEXT:

  • April 5, Chicken Explosion
  • April 12, Paradise Island Bean Burgers (I’m leaving my comfort zone a little with this one.)
