And boy was it COLD!  Winter coats on, hoods up, and tightly tied.  We crushed the kids into the Chariot, packed them in blankets and off we went.  I even packed a ‘hot drink’ for the family to share after the skate.

I was pretty happy that our son wanted to go in the stroller with his sister to start.  I was so psyched to get my new skates on and be able to get a decent skate in.

Sadly, my definition of a decent skate isn’t what it used to be.  I was sucking wind so fast I was a little embarrassed to admit it!  I choose to believe that it had something to do with the weather.  The beautiful blue sky, dark blue choppy water – with white caps no less! – and the feel of the breeze as we got wind burn on our cheeks – but don’t worry, we couldn’t feel it because it was cold enough they were frozen!  Oh, and don’t forget that I was pushing almost 60lbs in extra baggage with the kiddies and stroller.

A mere 3km in, I looked at my husband and huffed out the words “Time. To. Turn. Around.”  And to my delight, time to give him the stroller!  What a pathetic performance from a girl who, a mere 2 years ago wanted to start training (again!) to do a skate marathon!  Ah well, you’ve got to start somewhere, right?  So, I started here.  Now let’s see how far I get this summer.

I have to admit, the real fun started when, about .5km from the car, my son decided he wanted out of the stroller.  So, out he got and we put some wheels on his feet and he was off to the races – with a little help from daddy.

He skated the whole way back to the car and LOVED it!  So much so that my husband looked at me and asked me to find him a pair of ‘real’ inline skates.  Yikes!  I’m not sure if I’m ready for that.  Luckily, I think they don’t come in his size – if they do, I don’t think I want to know yet.

In my opinion, the fact that we are getting him a two-wheeler is enough for now.  Ask me again in a few months.

All in all it was a great afternoon.  We all got out, those of us that could got some exercise in and we all got some fresh air and sunshine.  Can’t really ask for more than that can you?

I ate a rainbow today.  How about  you?

