Sweet Potato Oat Bars

Well.  I did it.  I completed the recipe for week one From The Eat-Clean Diet Recharged! book..  I have to admit, I was expecting something more granola bar-esque.  You know, as I know a granola bar.  And these were … well, not the traditional granola bar.  But then, I guess that’s why I decided to try the Clean Diet recipes, right?  They are more of a breakfast bar than a granola bar – which is how they are listed in the cookbook, I just noticed – duh!  Now, don’t get me wrong, as I tried a piece and was listing off my likes & dislikes and what I would consider changing for next time, my husband, who usually smiles and nods, looked at me and said, “I wouldn’t change too much about it.  It was pretty good!”  I’ll have to test them on my son in the morning – I’ll be sure to let you know how that goes.

**UPDATED: Nathaniel wouldn’t go near them!  He wouldn’t touch them with a 10ft pole.  But on my 63rd attempt at getting him to try one, he finally relented and took a bite.  Then, loudly and clearly declared.  “I like these bars!”.  He forgot to say “Sam I Am.”**

The first time I really read the recipe, I mean, really looked at it, I realized I may have a bit of a problem.  The recipe called for a number of sweet potatoes without indicating what size of potatoes I should be using.  So, I went to the grocery store and all I could get were these ginormous sweet potatoes.  Seriously, they were HUGE!  Needless to say, I didn’t buy as many as the recipe called for.

Also, I was unable to find Coconut Butter at my local grocery store.  I even asked an employee if they carried it and she responded with, “I’ve never heard of such a thing.  Are you sure it exists?”  When I told her that while I had never used it myself, I was fairly sure of it’s existence to which the smarty replied, “Where do you think you’d buy such a thing?”.  That is the question of the day.

The next issue I came across was that I bought whole flax seeds instead of ground flax seeds.  This was intentional, but I must say that ‘grinding’ them myself became a bit of an issue.  In my defense, I had a screaming infant at my feet and two rowdy toddlers running amuck in the house to distract me from thinking straight.  To make a long story short, I ended up using whole flax seeds and about half a cup of them thrown all over my kitchen.  Thankfully the clean up crew arrives tomorrow!

Now, I started out by cooking the sweet potato and measuring out all my ingredients.  Oh, I used plain old butter instead of coconut butter – though I read in another of her recipes that an appropriate substitute would have been olive oil.  Also, I used dried blueberries and threw some almonds in the food processor.

Sweet Potato Oat Bars Ingredients Over all, this recipe was really quite easy to prepare with the messiest part being (aside from my fight with the flax seeds) scooping the flesh out of the potatoes.

I ended up using a slightly smaller pan – 7.5 x 11 – than the recipe called for so they ended up a bit thick and more cakey than I’m sure was intended.  To compensate, I cooked them a bit longer (like 25 minutes) at a lower temperature.

Over all I quite like them.  They are filling and not overly sweet while still satisfying (sort of) your sweet tooth.  As I was making it, I was concerned that it called for too much pumpkin pie spice for my liking but in the end it worked out very well though next time, I may cut it slightly.  Also, I estimate the amount of sweet potato I used at about 3.5 cups.  I’d cut that back a bit – though not much – too as I really like the flavour that oats can offer.  I really liked the blueberries in it but I think next time I’d really like to try it with dried cherries.

So, how did you do?

