I’ve been doing SO well lately.  Eating a bit healthier.  Not snacking.  As much.  I’ve even lost a few pounds.  But this afternoon, I fell.

I have to say, I don’t even know what caused it. I don’t remember feeling particularly stressed or anything. I do, however, remember hearing my name being called. Very clearly. From the freezer. Of course I had to go investigate, right? Well, upon closer inspection, the sound was coming from inside an unopened package of Grasshoppers.  Eat me.  What else was I to do???  I ate one.  And another one.  And one more.  And … well, I stopped.  Eventually.

So we had a friend and her son over for dinner and my son was playing shy.  So we decided to go play, knowing that he would join us eventually.  I could hear him rummaging around.  And then I couldn’t.  And I think we all know what that means.  But it was far more serious than I thought.  He had found my stash!  My precious Grasshoppers.  {Seriously, check out the link!  You know it’s a damn good cookie if it’s got a Facebook page, right!?}  Well, I found him with a ring of chocolate around his mouth.  GASP!  My cookie stash has diminished ;(   Am I supposed to be more worried about the fact that he ate a rather large mitful of cookies just before dinner?  Nah, I’m sad my stash is that much smaller.  Ok, moving along …

Ok.  I’m going to jump back on the bandwagon.  Here we go.  For supper we decided to have home made pizza – whole wheat crust even.  The kids got to much around with the dough and ‘dress’ their own pizzas.  Yummy.  Now, can somebody tell me WHY it didn’t occur to me that, after having ‘fallen’ and determinedly getting back up, I should cut my pizza in half and fill half my plate with salad???  Why does that not occur to me before I fill my belly with pizza?  Now, as if I haven’t done enough damage for the day, I apparently felt the need to top it off with a serving of creme brulee **(see my Cooks Notes at the bottom of this post).  I have to admit – I was a bit embarrassed.  My friend had no trouble not eating her creme brulee yet I managed to polish mine off!

Okay, that is my fall.  Now, I am getting back up again!

** Creme Brulee, Cooks Notes: To be fair, it was my first time ever making Creme Brulee.  I think I didn’t whip the yolks well enough before mixing it with the cream as it came out not near as smooth as I expected for a creme brulee.  Though, that could also have been due to the fact that I didn’t have the lemon zest so I just added a couple table spoons of lemon juice – which added no real flavour for the record.

