This past weekend was my daughters baptism.  In honour of the occasion, I decided to bake her a special cake.  Please don’t tell my son, for his baptism I baked a plain old carrot cake that didn’t live up to it’s potential at all and turned both my husband and myself off of carrot cake ever since!

Noah's Ark Cake

Lions & Tigers - Oh my!

Noah's Ark Cake

Elephants & Monkeys too!

After weeks of planning the cake – yes, really – this is what we ended up with.  My husband was a little hurt I think because his animals got culled from the herd in the end but they just couldn’t all fit.  Well, that and his zebra’s looked a bit like giant polar bears with some awkward stripes.

I got this idea from this great book Debbie Brown’s 50 Easy Party Cakes, which some say is a bit of an oxymoron.  However I have to say that it was far easier than, and took far less time than the cakes I made a couple weeks ago.

cake cake and more cake

Cake, cake and more cake!

Chocolate Cake

Yummy!

Old & In The Way cake

Old & In The Way

Tractor cake

Massey Ferguson 1085 cake

Two short weeks ago, we attended a birthday party for three family members. It was my Father-in-law’s 75th, my mother-in-law’s 73rd and my brother-in-law’s 50th – all in the same week. As long as I have been around, they have all shared a birthday celebration and one simple birthday cake. This year, I volunteered to do their cakes because I thought that with two ‘milestone’ birthdays, there needed to be something special! So, check out the cakes I managed for them!

So, for my Mother-in-Law’s 73rd birthday, a yummy chocolate chocolate cake. I made the flowers out of gum pasted and dusted them with pearl luster stuff. I’ve never made flowers before – it was quite a learning experience.

Then, my brother-in-law, a HUGE Grateful Dead fan, turned 50. So, I decided to do something a little special and I did a little online research of the Grateful Dead and decided that I would replicate their first promo bumper sticker – seemed simple enough I thought. But then I came across an LP that was put out by one of Jerry Garcia’s bands, a blue grass band, called Old & In The Way. May I just say, that my brother-in-law would like nothing more than to believe that he was in someone’s way. I would not find anything more suiting than this LP cover. So, I replicated a black and white version of the LP cover in butter cream! I was quite pleased when he could actually decipher which band member was Jerry!

And lastly – and the most fun (and trying!) – was the Massey Ferguson 1085 tractor for my father-in-law. I enlisted my husband for some assistance. He laughed at me when I told him I needed him to take the kids away for the day so I could spend the entire day getting it done. Well, he didn’t. And may I just say that he wasn’t laughing when we were FINALLY able to sit down to dinner at 11pm!

All in all, I had a lot of fun making these cakes but I have to admit, I’m off cake for a little while. The next cake I am prepared to assist on is the one for a friends daughter who is turning three in May and she has asked me to help and I will happily do so. Perhaps by then I’ll be ‘jonesing’ to make a fancy pants cake again!

Today I ate a rainbow, how about you?

