So, in my quest to create a healthier household I was looking for some supper ideas and I came across this recipe a couple weeks ago.  We’ve tried it a couple times now and each time it was delish!  And, my favorite part, I was really able to throw it together in less than 30 minutes!

This recipe came from the Womens Health Magazine website.  Serves: 4, 264 cal/serving

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 C reduced or no sodium chicken or vegetable broth
  • 2 medium zucchini, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced
  • 1 can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/8 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 C cooked diced chicken
  • 2 tbsp prepared pesto

Directions

In a non-stick skillet over medium heat, cook the onion and garlic in the oil until soft.  Add the broth, zucchini, beans and pepper.  Heat just to boiling.  Boil for 2 minutes.  Add the chicken, return just to boiling, remove from heat.  Add the pesto.  Let stand for 2 to 3 minutes to blend the flavours.

Cooks Notes

I found that I only needed one med-large size zucchini.  Also, the chicken I used was left over from the last time I made quesadillas and it had some taco seasoning on it – I found this didn’t hurt the recipe at all.  We served it with a whole grain mini-baguette and it was yummy and filling – even for my husband who stopped at only one serving.

Next time I make it I’ll take pictures of the process.  It was super easy and quick!

Today I Ate A Rainbow – how about you?

